Quote-tastic! “Live Long Enough to Become a Hero”

210517 NTWB Quote

Hi and welcome to another Quote-tastic post!

First, I’d like to address my absence. I decided to start this blog at the beginning of March and I promptly started to get bombarded by the second half of my last term of first year university. I wanted to keep writing and uploading but I decided to push it all back until summer started. Now that I have loads of free time, I can’t wait to get back into writing!

This quote is from one of my favorite YouTube original songs, “Live Long Enough to Become a Hero” by Nathan Sharp (NateWantsToBattle). It’s my favorite lyric out of the whole song because it represents feelings of new hope in the midst of hardships. It’s that surge of motivation, energy and strength you get that help you to rise once more and become the hero of your own stories and life.

As an introvert, I’m very selective about the people I talk to when it comes to personal things. Thus, there are only a few people that I openly discuss any problems or concerns I have and even then, I find it hard to talk about it with them because I don’t want to feel like a burden to them. This happened several times in my first term of university because I was in a new area, away from most of my family and friends and with no one to confide in. I started to feel trapped and lonely because I felt like I had to deal with everything all on my own.

Things began to look up in the second term when I met more people and started a few more friendships. The more I spent time with these people, the more I began to trust them and confide in them. When I listened to this song for the first time, these lyrics stood out to me because they perfectly described what I was going through. I did find the strength to confide to these people about personal things and I began to see new hope despite all the obstacles and worries I was facing. It felt empowering to be able to share something that I kept inside for a while. Slowly but surely, it was like a breath that I finally let out after holding it in for so long and the peace that came with each moment gave me the strength to keep moving forward.

I know that I will still face many challenges ahead of me, but, if my experiences have ever taught me anything, it’s that I will always find the strength to keep on going. To anyone who’s reading this and is going through a rough patch on their own, stay strong and gather the strength to make everything right again.

~Ro

 

Author:

Passionate reader and writer Artist at practice Video game fanatic

Leave a Reply

